Tuesday, 20 June 2017

Book review: Commonwealth - A. Patchett


“He was making an effort to write a sermon in his head for the follow Sunday. He wanted to tell the congregation, the few who were not presently in the Keatings’ backyard, how the miracle of loaves and fishes had been enacted here today, but he couldn’t find a way to wring enough booze out of the narrative.”

There are simple family saga stories that really engage you, even if they are set in a completely different location and if whatever happens there will never happen to you. But you feel you are there, you live with the characters, your emotions follow the flow of theirs in such a way that mesmerize me every and each time. The power of books.
To me, it generally happens with American contemporary novels based on families, where the story line is quite simple yet dramatic, where there is suffering and loss, yet joy and hope.
And Commonwealth is one of those novels that had me glued in from the very beginning to the last word. It is a story about brotherhood and about families, it is the story of a group of kids who are somehow "forced" to grow up together, it is the story of three marriages, two that falls apart to create a new one which brings two family, six kids as a big family. But it is also the narration of the individual lives of the character from when they were little children until their older age. 
It is a book of summers of freedom at the lakeside, of California and Virginia, of mischievousness and tragedy, of a book inside the book.
Fix and Beverly have two daughters, he is a policeman, she is very beautiful, she leaves him for a lawyer who leaves his wife and four kids behind. In summer all the kids get together in Virginia, but one summer a tragedy happens and the oldest kid dies. Forward twenty years later, one of those kids - Franny, now in her late twenties meet a famous author and they fall in love and he writes a novel based on Franny's families story. Forward other twenty years later, Fix is very ill, his daughters get together to spend time with him and listen to all his stories. 
My favourite scene has to be the opening one: Beverly and Fix throw a christening party for baby Franny and then Bret arrives uninvited with a bottle of gin and magically oranges appears from everywhere to make cocktails. 
It is not a lighthearted novel, yet it never gives you the suffocating sensation of tragedy. Life is a mess, the two families are a mess, the single individuals are a mess, and yet you go through it. 

"Life ... was a series of losses. It was other things too, better things, but the losses were as solid and dependable as the earth itself."
I truly enjoyed Ann Patchett's writing style, swift and clever and never boring. The novel made me think a bit of We were never ourselves by Matthew Thomas, even if there are massive differences between the two, or A spool of blue thread by Anne Tyler.

In summary, I really enjoyed Commonwealth and I want to read other books from the same author as in both plot and writing style she really ticks all the boxes for me! 
Overall rating:  8  Plot: 8    Writing style: 8     Cover: 2

Title:Commonwealth
Author: Ann Patchett
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 336
Publication year: 2016

Plot:
One Sunday afternoon in Southern California, Bert Cousins shows up at Franny Keating’s christening party uninvited. Before evening falls, he has kissed Franny’s mother, Beverly—thus setting in motion the dissolution of their marriages and the joining of two families.Spanning five decades, Commonwealth explores how this chance encounter reverberates through the lives of the four parents and six children involved. Spending summers together in Virginia, the Keating and Cousins children forge a lasting bond that is based on a shared disillusionment with their parents and the strange and genuine affection that grows up between them.When, in her twenties, Franny begins an affair with the legendary author Leon Posen and tells him about her family, the story of her siblings is no longer hers to control. Their childhood becomes the basis for his wildly successful book, ultimately forcing them to come to terms with their losses, their guilt, and the deeply loyal connection they feel for one another. 
The Author:
Ann Patchett is the author of seven novels, The Patron Saint of Liars, Taft, The Magician’s Assistant, Bel Canto, Run, State of Wonder, and Commonwealth. She was the editor of Best American Short Stories, 2006, and has written three books of nonfiction–Truth & Beauty, about her friendship with the writer Lucy Grealy, What Now? an expansion of her graduation address at Sarah Lawrence College, and This is the Story of a Happy Marriage, a collection of essays examining the theme of commitment.Ann Patchett lives in Nashville with her husband, Karl VanDevender, and their dog, Sparky. She has opened a bookshop in Nashville, Tennessee, Parnassus Books.

Friday, 16 June 2017

Book Review: In cold blood - T. Capote



"I thought that Mr. Clutter was a very nice gentleman. I thought so right up to the moment that I cut his throat."

Gosh, how awful! Not the book, the facts described in the book. It is just a horrible story, this poor decent, hard working, well respected family killed in cold blood for not even 50 dollars in the end!
I get why Truman Capote got so fascinated by those murders and those killers to want to write a book about it. It is just unbelievable that two people, yes two "disturbed" people, no doubts, with a bad luggage of stealing, could committee such an atrocious act without any kind of remorse or nightmare at night!
The book itself is the account of what happened, who the family killed was, what the killers background was. There is a long part about their movements to reach the farm and then an account of the killing themselves. The end chapter is about the trial and the subsequent appeal.
It is a chronicle of what happened, well written, quite cold and factual, with some feelings from the various characters in the story in it, but generally it is quite a detached account of events. But the events themselves are so horrible that it becomes addictive to read on and on, to try and understand if they had a motive and what went on in their minds to commit such brutal assassinations.
A good read for the readers that like real crime story and are not too weak in the stomach!

Overall rating: 6,5   Plot: NA   Writing style: 6,5    Cover: 4




Title:In cold blood
Author: Truman Capote
Publisher: Penguin
Pages: 352
Publication year: 1965

Plot:
The chilling true crime 'non-fiction novel' that made Truman Capote's name, In Cold Blood is a seminal work of modern prose, a remarkable synthesis of journalistic skill and powerfully evocative narrative published in Penguin Modern Classics. Controversial and compelling, In Cold Blood reconstructs the murder in 1959 of a Kansas farmer, his wife and both their children. Truman Capote's comprehensive study of the killings and subsequent investigation explores the circumstances surrounding this terrible crime and the effect it had on those involved. At the centre of his study are the amoral young killers Perry Smith and Dick Hickcock, who, vividly drawn by Capote, are shown to be reprehensible yet entirely and frighteningly human.
The Author:
Truman Garcia Capote born Truman Streckfus Persons, (September 30, 1924 – August 25, 1984) was an American novelist, screenwriter, playwright, and actor, many of whose short storiesnovelsplays, annonfiction are recognized as literary classics, including the novella Breakfast at Tiffany's (1958) and the true crime novel In Cold Blood (1966), which he labeled a "nonfiction novel". At least 20 films and television dramas have been produced of Capote novels, stories, and plays.

Tuesday, 13 June 2017

Book Review: Le addizioni femminile - A. Fezzi


"Ogni riferimento a fatti e persone realmente esistenti è puramente casuale.
Tranne i riferimenti a te, che hai sempre sperato che il grande amore della tua vita ritornasse."


Verona e' una bellissima citta', con un sacco di monumenti storici (in primis L'Arena) e di cultura, una movimentata vita notturna e tanti ristoranti e bar. E' una citta' molto frequentata da turisti provenienti un po' da ovunque nel mondo.
Verona e' anche una citta' molto borghese, una sorta di paesello in versione gigante dove tutti conoscono un po' tutti e sanno i fatti di tutti. E' anche una citta' paesello dove le amicizie, che si stringono di solito alle elementari/medie e non cambiano poi piu' di tanto fino alla geriatria, sono importanti e molto strette, cosi' strette che a volte chi non e' nella "cerchia" giusta si sente un po' un outsider.
Detto questo, amo Verona con i suoi pro e contro e adoro tornarci per un weekend lungo e ritrovare lle solite persone, le solite routine, la placida Borgo Trento bondalara dove vivono i miei genitori (e, dove, soprattutto, c'e' il Gelatone che fa un gelato alla stracciatella da urlo!).
Tutto questo per dire che per me Fezzi parte avantaggiato, poiche' scrive romanzi ambientati nella mia Verona, e quindi si becca gia' un paio di punti solo per questo motivo. Non ho trovato nessun altro autore che basa i suoi libri esclusivamente su Verona e su luoghi, usanze in cui mi ritrovo cosi' tanto. Il primo libro di Fezzi - Ho sognato un Negroni - mi ha fatto ridere a crepapelle perche' e' un ritratto cosi' vero della "Verona da bere" che ogni riga mi faceva pensare a qualcuno di mia conoscenza o ad un episodio simile.
Con quest' ultimo romanzo, Fezzi e' piu' riflessivo e meno "pacione" rispetto ai precedenti. Le addizioni femminile e' un romanzo "di crescita", retrospettivo, in cui il protagonista, Luca - veronese 30enne proprietario di un bar nella sonnacchiosa Borgo Trento - si ritrova faccia a faccia con i suoi quattro amori passati, che ritornano da lui in carne ad ossa. E ovviamente Luca si trova a riflettere - fin troppo - su what if con ognuna dei suoi grandi amori.
Un libro sull'amore, certo, anzi su diversi tipi di amore, da quello adolescenziale, a quello piu' maturo dei trent'anni, ma soprattutto un libro sull'essere se stessi e la propria felicita' interiore e un libro sull'importanza dell'amicizia e dei solidi valori familiari.
Un libro che consiglio a tutti i veronesi che ritrovanno un bellissimo ritratto della loro citta'. ma anche a tutti i 20-30-40enni che vogliono una storia piacevole ma non sdolcinata, riflessiva ma non pesante.

Overall rating: 8   Plot: 8  Writing style: 8    Cover: 7


Title:Le addizioni femminili
Author: Alberto Fezzi
Publisher: Historica Edizioni
Publication year: 2015

Plot:
Che cosa succederebbe se gli amori passati si ripresentassero tutti insieme, a confondere passato e presente, realtà e immaginazione? È quello che capita al protagonista, Luca, barista trentenne con tutte le incertezze e le domande di una generazione. Serio ma non troppo, ingenuo fino a strappare la risata, Luca si trova assolutamente impreparato di fronte a questi nuovi vecchi incontri. Ne segue una serie di eventi inaspettati, che vengono a scombinare la sua vita tranquilla, in una Verona che, timidamente, riesce a raccontare tutta la bellezza della vita di provincia. Le aritmetiche amorose del protagonista verranno definitivamente sovvertite; un gioco del destino, in cui la realtà è più sorprendente di tutte le innumerevoli ipotesi. Il risultato dell'assommarsi dei ritorni, infatti, sarà per Luca una rivelazione ben più grande, che arriverà, sul finale a sorpresa, a mostrargli il volto dell'unica persona con cui veramente fare i conti.

The Author:
Direttamente dal sito dell'autore: "Sono nato a Verona nel 1977, terzo figlio di madre professoressa e casalinga, e padre dirigente d’azienda e cantante lirico, e tutta questa è la ragione per cui dentro di me suona sempre il Rigoletto.
Mi sono diplomato al liceo classico, mi sono laureato in Giurisprudenza e sono diventato avvocato. Ma nel frattempo ho fatto il rocker, l’attore e poi lo scrittore. Certo, tutte attività da senzadio che agli occhi della maggior parte della gente appaiono inconciliabili con quella dell’avvocato, un uomo palloso intento solamente a leggere vecchie pergamene con il monocolo."

Friday, 9 June 2017

Book Review: Ragione & Sentimento - S. Bertola


"Per me l'amore non è così. Non è questa specie di bestialità aguzza che morde Anna. Non è un tumulto, una mareggiata. È placida l'onda, prospero il vento.  Amore è un faro fisso che sovrasta la tempesta e non vacilla mai. È un segreto, che se ne parli di sbriciola. È il bacio che non ci siamo dati, quelli che ci siamo sfioriti. È aprire un regalo piano piano, mettendoci un sacco di tempo, sciogliere tutti i modi del nastro, poi arrotolare il nastro in una matassina, e legare la matassina e posarla lì accanto. Staccare lo scotch senza rompere la carta. Togliere la carta, piegarla seguendo le pieghe già presenti, metterla da parte, insieme alla matassina. Aprire la scatola. Ci vorranno mesi a fare tutto questo? Bene. Preferisco così, piuttosto che strappare nastro e carta, e scoperchiare con violenza, e consumare il regalo con avidità, per poi buttarli via perché non mi piace più, ce n'è un altro, per favore?"

Premetto che ho letto tutti i romanzi di Stefania Bertola, che mi piace molto la sua ironia e come scrive, in modo frizzante, tagliente ma non acido. La Bertola e' molto brava a descrivere in maniera caricaturale ma non esagerata l'umanita;, specialmente quella della Torino "bene", di cui questo romanzo strapullula. Il "remake" di Ragione e sentimento della Austen si sente e non si sente, a parer mio, con un altro titolo potrebbe anche passare inosservato. 
Cio' che pero' mi e' piaciuto davvero molto nel libro sono le descrizioni pungenti e molto divertenti dei personaggi e delle loro debolezze e relazioni. 
Le tre protagoniste indiscusse, le sorelle Cerrato, forse con l'eccezione della maggiore, hanno tutte un carattere molto particolare, una parla con i Beatles di cui e' innamorata, l'altra e' dedita a conservare la sua verginita' per conservarla per il "vero amore". Ovviamente ci saranno calamita' e problemi insormontabili durante il romanzo che le nostre eroine dovranno affrontare e l'amore e' al centro di tutto. Eleonora, la sorella maggiore, e' forse quella meno caricaturale e piu' "equilibrata", la roccaforte di una famiglia che, alla morte impriovvisa del padre, viene catapultata in un mondo in cui devono arrangiarsi da sole e senza un soldo. 
Certo, la storia di per se' non e' nulla di originale, ma quello che contraddistingue la Bertola da tante altre autrici di "chick lit", italiane e non, e' proprio la penaa graffiante che non risparmia. 

Overall rating: 6,5   Plot: 6,5   Writing style: 7    Cover: 7


Title:Ragione & Sentimento
Author: Stefania Bertola
Publisher: Einaudi
Pages: 232
Publication year: 2017

Plot:
La morte improvvisa di Gianandrea Cerrato, valente avvocato penalista, oltre a privare una moglie del marito e tre figlie del padre, ha delle conseguenze del tutto inaspettate. Da un giorno all'altro le quattro donne si trovano a dover riorganizzare la loro vita. Ed è Eleonora, la figlia maggiore, a cercare il modo di mandare avanti quella famiglia di femmine «variamente deragliate ». Mentre la piccola Margherita vive in una dimensione parallela, Eleonora e Marianna sono divise da una visione opposta dell'esistenza e dell'amore: Marianna legge Shakespeare e crede nell'amore assoluto, Eleonora invece, impegnata com'è a sbarcare il lunario e ad arginare la follia collettiva, non è affatto sicura di sapere cosa sia, veramente, l'amore. Intorno a loro si muove il mondo, con le sorprese, l'allegria, l'inganno. La ragione e il sentimento. Perché quella è una delle grandi battaglie che ci tocca combattere nella vita. Non proprio a tutti, perché esistono esseri fortunati senza ragione, o senza sentimento. Ma la maggior parte di noi ne ha un po' dell'una e un po' dell'altro, e non sempre riesce a farli coesistere pacificamente. Quindi si lotta: si lotta da sempre e si lotterà per sempre, e per questo motivo tra tutti i romanzi di Jane Austen Ragione e sentimento è quello piú adatto a essere periodicamente riscritto, scagliandolo dentro il tempo e i secoli che passano. Stefania Bertola l'ha fatto in modo irresistibile, con l'umorismo e la maestria che le conosciamo da sempre.

The Author:
Stefania Bertola e' nata a Torino il 27 dicembre 1952 ed è una scrittricetraduttricesceneggiatrice e autrice radiofonica italiana.
Ha pubblicato diversi romanzi (solitamente ambientati a Torino) che coniugano sentimento, umorismo e senso del surreale con risultati che possono ricordare la letteratura anglosassone chick lit per quanto riguarda il tono leggero e divertente, anche se i temi si discostano decisamente dai canoni di quel genere.

Wednesday, 7 June 2017

Book Review: Before the fall - N. Hawley




“Life is a series of decisions and reactions. It is the things you do and the things that are done to you.
And then it's over.” 

I could not get pass page 50ish, it just did not take me at all, after the first pages which were very promising, describing the plane crash and how the survivors made it, it just became boring and dull, with all these descriptions about this multi billionaires and how they made this news channel. 

Overall rating: 4   Plot: 6    Writing style: 5    Cover: 4


Title: Before the fall
Author: Noah Hawley
Publisher: Hodder Books
Pages: 400
Publication year: 2017

Plot:
On a foggy summer night, eleven people--ten privileged, one down-on-his-luck painter--depart Martha's Vineyard headed for New York. Sixteen minutes later, the unthinkable happens: the passengers disappear into the ocean. The only survivors are Scott Burroughs--the painter--and a four-year-old boy, who is now the last remaining member of a wealthy and powerful media mogul's family.With chapters weaving between the aftermath of the tragedy and the backstories of the passengers and crew members--including a Wall Street titan and his wife, a Texan-born party boy just in from London, a young woman questioning her path in life, and a career pilot--the mystery surrounding the crash heightens. As the passengers' intrigues unravel, odd coincidences point to a conspiracy: Was it merely dumb chance that so many influential people perished? Or was something far more sinister at work? Events soon threaten to spiral out of control in an escalating storm of media outrage and accusations--all while the reader draws closer and closer to uncovering the truth.

The Author:
Noah Hawley is an Emmy, Golden Globe, PEN, Critics' Choice, and Peabody Award-winning author, screenwriter, and producer. He has published four novels and penned the script for the feature film Lies and Alibis. He created, executive produced, and served as showrunner for ABC's My Generation and The Unusuals and was a writer and producer on the hit series Bones. Hawley is currently executive producer, writer, and showrunner on FX's award-winning series, Fargo.

Sunday, 4 June 2017

Book Review: Anything is possible - E. Strout


"And because he was Charlie, who years ago had fouled himself profoundly, because he was Charlie and not someone else, he could not say to his son: You are decent and strong, and none of this has anything to do with me; but you came through it, that childhood that wasn't all roses, and I'm proud of you, I'm amazed by you. Charlie could not even say a watered-down version of whatever that feeling would be. He could not even clap his son on the shoulder in greeting, or when saying goodbye."


I had the immense pleasure of participating to an event at Waterstones Gower Street in London last week, where Elizabeth Strout was presenting her latest novel. I really enjoyed it, I found Elizabeth Strout witty, with a great sense of humour, very elegant and kind and strong.
She talked about the importance of being truth when you write, which is what she thinks permitted her to become a well known author. She talked about how she does not judge her characters, even when they are "bad" or they do "bad things".
She explained that, while writing My name is Lucy Barton - which I really really loved - she was simultaneously also writing the stories that then became Anything is possible. The latest novel is indeed the story of various characters from the Illinois town where Lucy Barton grew up, characters who were all in the previous novel.
I loved Anything is possible, I loved how it seems a simple story of normal people from a rural county, but in reality it is all but simple. It touches in depth on a lot of issues, poverty (both material and moral), difference in classes, betrayal, parents & sons/daughters relationships, the PTSD of men who fought in Vietnam to name just some of the topics in the book. And all these subjects are so naturally described and not judged in the novel, Don't get me wrong, the book is quite sad and "dark" in a way, however it leaves you with hope, anything is possible after all and as Strout said at the event, life is messy but we go through it/
Each chapter of the book is about a different characters, however all the people are interlinked so it never gives you the sensation of abrupt endings, there is always a constant flow in the story, with the right pauses and pace to make the readers reflect and assimilate the plot.
Strout can build such an empathy between the reader and the character, so you end up feeling all the emotions they are feeling with them. Elizabeth Strout writes divinely, the stream of words just captures in the novel and you just want more and more. Few authors can give me this feeling of being in the book, of total engrossment in the hard simple lives of the characters.
In this latest novel, I found some similarities with Kent Haruf, in the sense that both writers are masters in writing about countryside life in a simple yet so profound way.
I just loved Anything is possible and I am almost sad I devoured it in two evenings. I loved all of Strout's books so far and I cannot wait for the next one!

Overall rating: 9   Plot: 9   Writing style: 10    Cover: 9



Title:Anything is possible
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Publisher: Viking Books (Penguin Random House)
Pages: 272
Publication year: 2017

Plot:
Anything is Possible tells the story of the inhabitants of rural, dusty Amgash, Illinois, the hometown of Lucy Barton, a successful New York writer who finally returns, after seventeen years of absence, to visit the siblings she left behind. Reverberating with the deep bonds of family, and the hope that comes with reconciliation, Anything Is Possible again underscores Elizabeth Strout's place as one of America's most respected and cherished authors.

The Author:
Elizabeth Strout was born in Portland, Maine, and grew up in small towns in Maine and New Hampshire.  From a young age she was drawn to writing things down, keeping notebooks that recorded the quotidian details of her days.  She was also drawn to books, and spent hours of her youth in the local library lingering among the stacks of fiction.  During the summer months of her childhood she played outdoors, either with her brother, or, more often, alone, and this is where she developed her deep and abiding love of the physical world: the seaweed covered rocks along the coast of Maine, and the woods of New Hampshire with its hidden wildflowers.
During her adolescent years, Strout continued writing avidly, having conceived of herself as a writer from early on.  She read biographies of writers, and was already studying – on her own – the way American writers, in particular, told their stories.  Poetry was something she read and memorized; by the age of sixteen was sending out stories to magazines.  Her first story was published when she was twenty-six. 
Strout attended Bates College, graduating with a degree in English in 1977.  Two years later, she went to Syracuse University College of Law, where she received a law degree along with a Certificate in Gerontology.  She worked briefly for Legal Services, before moving to New York City, where she became an adjunct in the English Department of Borough of Manhattan Community College.  By this time she was publishing more stories in literary magazines and Redbook and Seventeen.  Juggling the needs that came with raising a family and her teaching schedule, she found a few hours each day to work on her writing.

Thursday, 1 June 2017

May 2017 Wrap up


Viaggiare in giallo - AA.VV.
Vari racconti gialli di autori famosi, alcuni belli, alcuni brutti, alcuni cosi cosi'. Mi e' bastato leggere il racconto di Rocco Schiavone per essere felice!
Rating:   6.5 out 10

L'amore che mi resta - M. Marzano
Un libro "pugno nello stomaco", duro e tenero insieme, da leggere.
Rating:   8 out of 10

Gli innocenti - P. Calvetti
Un romanzo delicato e musicale, profondo, forte, commovente.
Rating:   8 out 10

Snowman - J. Nesbo
A great thriller, very unpredictable
Rating:  7 out of 10

Small great things - J. Picoult
A shocking and stunning novel about racism and race.
Rating:  8 out of 10

Before we visit the Goddess - C. B. Divakaruni
A novel about mothers and daughters, nice but didn't wow me.
Rating:  6.5 out of 10

Troppo tardi per la vertia' - G. Simoni
Un gran bel poliziesco classico
Rating:  7 out of 10

Do not say we have nothing - M. Thien
Abandoned, I found it too slow and boring.

Bull Mountain - B. Panowich
More a TV serie script than a novel, not bad.
Rating:  6 out of 10

Anything is possible - E. Strout
I love Strout and I loved these stories set in Illinois. A must read.
Rating:  9 out 10

















Tuesday, 30 May 2017

Book review: Bull Mountain - B. Panowich


"Se qualcosa esisteva sulla montagna, era perché le apparteneva. In caso contrario, la gente del luogo si premurava di sbarazzarsene al più presto. Da sempre si domandava da quale lato della barricata schierarsi. Bull Mountain lo colmava di tristezza e insieme di orgoglio."

Un romanzo che fatico a definire bello o brutto, mi e' sembrato di guardare un film di quelli americani violenti più' che leggere un libro, ad essere onesti. La prima parte del racconto passa lenta, ho quasi pensato di mollarlo li' a tratti, dalla seconda meta' in poi, diventa più' coinvolgente.
La prima parte del libro salta di decenni in decenni ed abbastanza confusa, secondo me, non si riesce ad apprezzare appieno nessuno dei personaggi ne' a capire chi e' chi.
Il personaggio che mi e' piaciuto di più' e' sicuramente Kate, la moglie dello sceriffo Clayton Burroughs, che, benché' marginale nel romanzo, e' una figura coerente e con "backbone".
Lo sceriffo Clayton, nato in una famiglia con un lunga storia di delinquenza, si "ribella" e sposa una "brava ragazza" e diventa sceriffo. Ma per tutto il libro non si capisce bene che tipo di sceriffo sia, se davvero chiuda un occhio su co' che accade a Bull Mountain, poiché' in realtà' non viene descritto molto cosa fa come sceriffo. E di certo si percepisce come sia combattuto tra una vita "normale" e la vita sulla montagna in cui e' cresciuto.
Tutti gli altri personaggi, dai fratelli Burroughs agli scagnozzi che lavorano con loro, ad Angel, all'agente federale, si mischiano in un agglomerato di cattiveria, violenza, idiozia.
Cio' che emerge maggiormente dalla storia e' l'attaccamento per la terra della Bull Mountain, un attaccamento che pero' porta non solo ad orgoglio e senso della patria, ma soprattutto a violenza per difenderlo e ad un suo uso delinquenziale, producendo liquori e droghe di contrabbando.
In generale, un sei per me, ma come dicevo e' più' lo script di un film che altro. Infatti sembra che stiano già' girando una serie tv dal libro! Lo stile narrativo e' piacevole, diretto, senza tanti fronzoli ne' linguaggi "alti; d'altronde vista la trama ed i protagonisti sarebbe strano se fosse diversamente.
Sembra che il seguito del romanzo, che Panowich sta scrivendo, ruoti intorno alla figura di Kate; in quel caso, poiché' come ho detto e' il mio personaggio preferito, probabilmente lo leggero'.

Overall rating: 6   Plot: 6    Writing style: 6.5     Cover: 8



Title: Bull Mountain
Author: Brian Panowich
Publisher: NN Editore
Pages: 304
Publication year: 2017

Plot:
Clayton Burroughs appartiene a una famiglia di fuorilegge che, da generazioni, mantiene il controllo di Bull Mountain, trafficando whiskey di mais, marijuana
e infine metanfetamina. Per lasciarsi alle spalle le sue origini, Clayton sposa la bella Kate e diventa lo sceriffo della città a valle. Ma quando l’agente federale Simon Holly minaccia di distruggere l’impero dei Burroughs, Clayton si trova a dover affrontare i ricordi, le paure, il disprezzo della famiglia e la volontà di redimere un passato di tradimenti, sangue e violenza. Con un ritmo serrato, la storia della famiglia Burroughs viene raccontata a turno da tutti i personaggi, fino all’imprevedibile epilogo.
Paragonato ai mostri sacri del crime, del southern noir e delle saghe familiari, Bull Mountain ha una struttura che ricorda True Detective, dialoghi che rimandano a Breaking Bad e personaggi che sembrano usciti da Fargo. E con una scrittura luminosa ci parla dell’onestà e della fedeltà alle proprie radici, e di come a volte sia doloroso ma indispensabile distruggerle per poterle onorare e proteggere.


The Author:
Brian Panowich è stato per anni un musicista itinerante prima di fermarsi in Georgia, dove vive tuttora e lavora come pompiere. Bull Mountain, il suo romanzo d’esordio, è stato finalista nella categoria Mistery/Thriller del Los Angeles Times Book Prize 2016 accanto ad autori del calibro di Don Winslow. Il sequel del romanzo, di prossima uscita per NN, mantiene la stessa ambientazione. Ruoterà attorno alla figura di Kate, la moglie dello sceriffo.

Saturday, 27 May 2017

Book Review: Troppo tardi per la verita' - G. Simoni



Davvero una piacevole scoperta Gianni Simoni con questa serie di Petri e Miceli. Ho trovato per caso questo libro curiosando in libreria, era appoggiato su uno scaffale di libri per bambini, la trama mi ha incuriosita e con giusta causa ho riscontrato.
In realta' se non avessi letto il sottotitolo del romanzo - Un caso di Petri e Miceli - non avrei mai indovinato che si tratti di un libro di una serie, perche' in relta' in questo volume Petri e Miceli non mi sembrano i protagonisti dell'indagine, che mi pare invece avere come protagonisti il sovraintendente della Polizia Stradale Armiento e la dirigente della Squadra mobile Bruni. Petri mi sembra un po' un gufo/consulente, saggio e competente, ma che si tiene abbastanza in disparte essendo in pensione. Miceli ha un ruolo davvero marginale in questo romanzo.
Ma poiche' questo e' il nono volume della serie, forse i due sono i protagonisti centrali nei libri precedenti. Sicuramente ne leggero' altri, quindi lo scopriro'!
Comunque una bella indagine investigativa, un bel caso che sembra un banale incidente all'inizio, ma si rivela poi molto piu' complicato. L'inizio e' un po' faticoso quando ai personaggi della stradale si aggiungono quelli della mobile, a cui il caso viene trasferito, poiche' ci sono un sacco di nomi con cui familiarizzare. Ma dopo l'iniziale confusione, il giallo tiene incollati alle pagine, i personaggi sono tutti interessanti, pacati, nessuna esagerazione o "bello e cattivo", nessun fuori dalle regole alla Schiavone, ma davvero un poliziesco "classico" che si legge con piacere.

Overall rating: 7   Plot: 7   Writing style: 7    Cover: 5




Title:Troppo tardi per la vertia'
Author: Gianni Simoni
Publisher: Tea Mystery
Pages: 264
Publication year: 2014

Plot:
È notte fonda: un'auto lanciata a gran velocità per le strade di Brescia travolge un uomo, lasciandolo sull'asfalto senza vita e dileguandosi. Sembrerebbe un triste caso di omicidio colposo con omissione di soccorso, come anche i testimoni oculari confermerebbero, ma il sovrintendente Armiento della Stradale non ne è convinto. Troppi particolari fuori posto: come mai la vittima non portava documenti con sé? Perché i due testimoni spariscono il giorno dopo l'incidente? Ad avvalorare i sospetti del poliziotto spunta, inatteso, un terzo testimone che rovescia tutte le ipotesi avanzate fino a quel momento. Si apre così una nuova linea d'indagine, per sospetto omicidio premeditato. Competenza della Omicidi, dove il commissario Miceli, reintegrato nelle sue funzioni a fianco del commissario titolare Grazia Bruni, prende in mano il caso. Ma più gli inquirenti indagano, più le acque si fanno torbide, e dal passato di vittima, testimoni e indagati emerge un pantano di tradimenti, odio, gelosie, brame di vendetta, debiti di gioco e sospetti di bancarotta. Ancora una volta determinante nella soluzione del mistero sarà l'esperienza dell'ex giudice Petri, indispensabile compagno di avventure e insostituibile amico per il buon Miceli.


The Author:
Gianni Simoni è nato a Brescia ed è stato magistrato sia a Brescia, sia Milano dal 1967 affrontando processi importanti per criminalità organizzata, terrorismo ed intrecci tra politica e malaffare. Risiede a Milano dal 1985. Ha sostenuto l'accusa per l'omicidio di Giorgio Ambrosoli e condotto l'inchiesta giudiziaria sulla morte di Michele Sindona nel carcere di Voghera (a cui nel 2011 ha dedicato il saggio "Il caffè di Sindona" scritto insieme all'ex magistrato e docente di tecniche dell'investigazione Giuliano Turone). Ha deciso di approfittare del prepensionamento iniziando a scrivere romanzi gialli. Finora ha pubblicato una ventina di libri che costituiscono due serie: quella ambientata a Brescia con il commissario Miceli e l'ex giudice Petri e l'altra ambientata a Milano con protagonista Andrea Lucchesi ispettore dalla pelle nera (con padre toscano e madre eritrea).
Le indagini del commissario Miceli e l'ex giudice Petri

Tuesday, 23 May 2017

Book Review: Before we visit the Goddess - C. B. Divakaruni


"My mother clutches at the collar of my shirt. I rub her back and feel her tears on my neck. It's been decades since our bodies have been this close. It's an odd sensation, like a torn ligament knitting itself back, lumpy and imperfect, usable as long as we know not to push it too hard.” 

A novel about three women - Sabitri, her daughter Bela and Bela's daughter Tara - that spaces through the decades and give each of them separate voices to recount their stories. A novel about the relationship mother and daughter and how complicated it is. 
It is a bitter sweet book, it did not give me a sense of completeness at the end, the "happy ending" that you normally expect in fiction. The women in the book are strong yet weak - the strongest is Sabitri who fights for her dream, the weakest Tara - they are surely admirable in how they made a career for themselves despite being in a country where women are less educated that men and despite being husband-less. On the other side, they are separated from their daughters and do little to reconcile with them. I am not sure if it is a culture thing or just me, but I would properly actively look into reaching out if my daughter stopped talking to me or moved to another continent. This has left me a bit of a bitter taste in my mouth, this not doing something to resolve things in their relationships.
Divakaruni writes well, in an involving and calm-feeling manner, and the novel is pleasant enough, however it doesn't reach the greatness of Sister of my heart which remains one of my favourite books ever. I always like to read novels set in India though, even if this one is partially set in USA too so the book is less impregnated of the flavour of the Indian culture.

Overall a novel that I read with pleasure but I will probably forget about in a couple of weeks. It did not really leave me with reflections or any poignant thought.

Overall rating: 6.5   Plot: 6    Writing style: 6.5     Cover: 6




Title: Before we visit the Goddess
Author: Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Pages: 208
Publication year: 2016

Plot:
The daughter of a poor baker in rural Bengal, India, Sabitri yearns to get an education, but her family’s situation means college is an impossible dream. Then an influential woman from Kolkata takes Sabitri under her wing, but her generosity soon proves dangerous after the girl makes a single, unforgivable misstep. Years later, Sabitri’s own daughter, Bela, haunted by her mother’s choices, flees abroad with her political refugee lover—but the America she finds is vastly different from the country she’d imagined. As the marriage crumbles and Bela is forced to forge her own path, she unwittingly imprints her own child, Tara, with indelible lessons about freedom, heartbreak, and loyalty that will take a lifetime to unravel.

The Author:
Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni is an award-winning and bestselling author, poet, activist and teacher of writing. Her work has been published in over 50 magazines, including the Atlantic Monthly and The New Yorker, and her writing has been included in over 50 anthologies, including The Best American Short Stories, the O.Henry Prize Stories and the Pushcart Prize Anthology. Her books have been translated into 29 languages, including Dutch, Hebrew, Bengali, Russian and Japanese, and many of them have been used for campus-wide and city-wide reads. Several of her works have been made into films and plays. She lives in Houston with her husband Murthy and has two sons, Anand and Abhay, who are in college. 

Friday, 19 May 2017

Book Review: Small great things - J. Picoult




“Babies are such blank slates. They don’t come into this world with the assumptions their parents have made, or the promises their church will give, or the ability to sort people into groups they like and don’t like. They don’t come into this world with anything, really, except a need for comfort. And they will take it from anyone, without judging the giver. I wonder how long it takes before the polish given by nature gets worn off by nurture.” 

The first few pages of this novel really touched me, especially the part about the baby born without face. So sad but also so full of love. The middle part was very interesting, a lot of things to reflect on, about races, prejudice, growing kids in this world, friendship, duty of care, hate and love. The final part is a crescendo of emotions which you really want to devour. 

I loved the main character Ruth, I loved how professional and no-nonsense she is, I loved how she aspires for her son to thrive. And I loved her mama, who worked so hard to make sure their daughters had a good life.
I was quite shock in reading about the white supremacy movements in the US, I did not think they were still such a big and ignorant mass of men and women. I don't know if the novel really reflects the truth, but I was extremely shocked to read how the "people of colour" are still kind of look at with suspicion in America. I thought the USA were a nation now of freedom and multiculturalism, with rare occasions of racism and race discrimination. But I did not think it was still such a wide and day to day problem. I was surely naive but it was really a massive down  for me to read about all the obstacles a person of colour has to go through just because they are black.
It is also always fascinating to read about the Americal legal system and court cases, I loved reading about the jury's choice process.

I loved how this novel mixed a very serious subject to the legal part to the more human-family part.
And I loved how Ruth is coherent to herself and her believes and her rights.

I am not overly convinced about the ending, which I am not going to reveal, but it is a bit too cheesy and forced in my view.

In summary, it is a great book about a very controversial matter, which made me want to read more on the subject. I always though about Picoult as a "women romance" writer, but this novel is all but that. 

“It just goes to show you: every baby is born beautiful. It's what we project on them that makes them ugly.” 

Overall rating: 8   Plot: 8   Writing style: 8    Cover: 7


Title:Small great things
Author: Jodi Picoult
Publisher: Hodder
Pages: 528
Publication year: 2016

Plot:
Ruth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with more than twenty years’ experience. During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she’s been reassigned to another patient. The parents are white supremacists and don’t want Ruth, who is African American, to touch their child. The hospital complies with their request, but the next day, the baby goes into cardiac distress while Ruth is alone in the nursery. Does she obey orders or does she intervene? Ruth hesitates before performing CPR and, as a result, is charged with a serious crime. Kennedy McQuarrie, a white public defender, takes her case but gives unexpected advice: Kennedy insists that mentioning race in the courtroom is not a winning strategy. Conflicted by Kennedy’s counsel, Ruth tries to keep life as normal as possible for her family—especially her teenage son—as the case becomes a media sensation. As the trial moves forward, Ruth and Kennedy must gain each other’s trust, and come to see that what they’ve been taught their whole lives about others—and themselves—might be wrong.
The Author:
Jodi Picoult (19 May 1966) is an American author of 23 bestselling novels. Jodi serves on the advisory board of VIDA: Women in Literary Arts, a research-driven organization whose goal is to increase critical attention to contemporary women’s writing and to foster transparency around gender and racial equality issues in contemporary literary culture. She has been married to Timothy Warren Van Leer, whom she met while in college, since 1989.They and their three children, Samantha van LeerKyle van Leer, and Jake van Leer, and a handful of pets, live in Hanover, New Hampshire.

Tuesday, 16 May 2017

Book Review: The Snowman - J. Nesbo



The Snowman is the 7th book of the Harry Hole serie and the third novel I have read by Nesbo. I normally religiously read series in the chronological order and I think with Nesbo I just read one novel as at a presentation with the author and then this one as I found it in my local second hand bookshop.

And compared to the other two I read - Cockroaches and Police - The Snowman is much better, the plot is complicated and gripping and, even if at about mid novel you guess who the culprit might be, it is never dull till the very end.
Harry Hole is a strange character and I yet have to decide if I like him or not. I generally love dark, out of the scheme detectives, who have issues with rules, drink too much and use "alternative ways" to investigate, and yet Hole is a question mark for me, too cold maybe for my liking or a bit too cocky/macho? I cannot pinpoint my finger on why, but I think I will read another couple of novels from he serie to get at the bottom of it!
I will have to give him that he can solve cases and he is cute in his relationship with his step son. Maybe I don't like how he is with women too much.
Anyhow, The Snowman is about a serie of women (all married with children) that disappear and always on the scene a snowman or traces of is found. Hole - fixated with serial killer after his experience abroad and his studies with the FBI - finds himself investigating into past crimes which might be connected with these disappearances.
I recommend it as very fast pace, very thrilling, never flat or guessable, it will keep you hooked till the very end as every good thriller should do.


Overall rating: 7   Plot: 7.5   Writing style: 7    Cover: 4




Title: The Snowman
Author: Jo Nesbo
Publisher: Vintage Books
Pages: 576
Publication year: 2014

Plot:

The first snow will come.
A young boy wakes to find his mother missing. Their house is empty but outside in the garden he sees his mother's favourite scarf – wrapped around the neck of a snowman.
And then he will appear again.
As Harry Hole and his team begin their investigation they discover that an alarming number of wives and mothers have gone missing over the years.
And when the snow is gone...
When a second woman disappears it seems that Harry's worst suspicions are confirmed: for the first time in his career Harry finds himself confronted with a serial killer operating on his home turf.
...he will have taken someone else.

The Author:
Jo Nesbo played football for Norway’s premier league team Molde, but his dream of playing professionally for Spurs was dashed when he tore ligaments in his knee at the age of eighteen.  After three years military service he attended business school and formed the band Di derre ('Them There').  Their second album topped the charts in Norway, but he continued working as a financial analyst, crunching numbers during the day and gigging at night.  When commissioned by a publisher to write a memoir about life on the road with his band, he instead came up with the plot for his first Harry Hole crime novel, The Bat.  He is regarded as one of the world’s leading crime writers, with The Leopard, Phantom, Police and The Son all topping the UK bestseller charts, and his novels are published in 48 languages. 

Thursday, 11 May 2017

Book Review: Gli innocenti - P. Calvetti


"Mentre tutti si aspettavano di vedermi piangere, nemmeno papa', nel suo cappotto pesante e con il cappello fra le mani come un cencio, si sognava di farlo. Viveva la tristezza a modo suo, parlando pochissimo, così' anch'io avevo adottato un sistema infallibile per non cedere: non appena sentivo arrivare le lacrime, con l'indice e il medio esercitavo una pressione sulle palpebre chiuse, inspiravo e cercavo ossigeno nella mia vita immaginaria, riuscendo a ricacciarle in gola senza che le persone se ne accorgessero. Non volevo far vedere a nessuno la mia tristezza. Avrei pianto dopo in santa pace, quando il mondo intorno a me sarebbe tornato desiderabile."

Inizio dicendo che e' un gran bel romanzo, un romanzo che mi fa venire in mente aggettivi come "gentile, delicato, romantico, profondo, commovente, musicale".
Paola torna alle "origini", perde quella leggiadra degli ultimi due romanzi (tra l'altro comunque molto belli!) e si riaccosta a tematiche piu' "profonde" e a temi piu' difficili. Gl innocenti e' un romanzo d'amore, di una bellissima storia d'amore tra Jacopo e Dasha, ma forse ancora di piu' e; un libro di ricerca e ritrovamento di se stessi e del proprio posto nel mondo, un libro di cui si parla di abbandono, adozione, scelte difficili e la paura di lasciarsi andare completamente come conseguenza ad esperienze traumatiche.
Gl innocenti e' anche un inno d'amore alla musica e, nonostante io di musica non sia appassionata, non si riesce, leggendo il romanzo, a non profondare un po' di invidia per il rapporto tra entrambi i protagonisti e la loro musica, un rapporto che nasce lento, con difficolta', ma quando sboccia e' un amore unico, onnipresente, che gli ingloba del tutto e per tutto e diventa parte della loro persona.

In sintesi, una bella storia, scrtta, come sempre, in maniera sublime, con due personaggi particolari ed entrambi ammirabili; un romanzo forte, coinvolgente e commovente. Da leggere!

 Tra parentesi ho incontrato Paola Calvetti ad un evento in libreria nell'ambito della fiera Tempo di libri, ero la prima li' e quindi ci siamo fatte una bella chiacchierata, Paola e' una persona con un sacco di energia e trasuda forza, impegno e sicurezza. Una "forza della natura" direi!


"Lasciarlo era facile, bisogna sempre lasciare i genitori: e' dopo, magari dopo anni, che diventa più' difficile, quando senti quella mancanza senza nome e senza volto che può' devastare scoppiando scoppiando all'improvviso in un giorno qualunque come una bomba mai disinnescata."

Overall rating: 8   Plot: 8   Writing style: 8    Cover: 7



Title:Gli innocenti
Author: Paola Calvetti
Publisher: Mondadori
Pages: 132
Publication year: 2017

Plot:
Jacopo e Dasha, due voci smarrite sullo spartito della vita, sono in scena per il Doppio concerto per violino e violoncello di Brahms che, pagina dopo pagina, è l'occasione per rivivere – in un serrato e immaginifico dialogo – i passi della loro storia d'amore. Dopo una lunga assenza, Jacopo torna a Firenze, all'Istituto degli Innocenti, il luogo eletto che lo ha accolto quando venne abbandonato da una madre rimasta nell'ombra, la cui identità è diventata negli anni la sua claustrofobica ossessione. «Come posso scoprire la mia storia se non so da dove vengo?» si chiede. Adottato da una famiglia troppo fragile e gravato di aspettative insostenibili, Jacopo è stato privato della spensieratezza dell'infanzia. A salvarlo è stato un piccolo violino, l'àncora alla quale assicurare i desideri e i sogni. Perché, se la felicità è un talento, Jacopo riesce ad avvicinarla solo stringendo fra le braccia lo strumento. Ma non sempre l'amore salva. Non se nell'amore pulsano, insistenti, vecchie ferite. Dasha, nata in un piccolo paese in Albania, è cresciuta circondata da un amore che Jacopo non conosce. Grazie a un padre devoto e illuminato, ha potuto frequentare il Conservatorio di Tirana, dove ha incontrato il violoncello, destinato a diventare il suo unico amico. Fuggita dal porto di Durazzo, sola con il suo strumento, dopo la rovinosa caduta del regime, è sbarcata a Brindisi il 7 marzo del 1991, insieme a migliaia di profughi. Anche le sue radici sono state recise, ma la musica ha compiuto il miracolo di preservare dal dolore il suo animo delicato e forte. Eppure nemmeno Dasha, che ora suona di nuovo accanto a lui, è riuscita a distogliere Jacopo dalla ricerca di un passato che ha il potere di avvelenare il presente, rendendo orfani i due amanti di un futuro possibile. Dove ad aspettarli, forse, c'è un bambino. Nel corso dell'esecuzione del Doppio di Brahms accadrà qualcosa di totalmente imprevisto. La musica si fa eco dell'amore e di una sconvolgente rivelazione, cui non può seguire altro se non un silenzio colmo di incanto, lo stesso che resta nel cuore del lettore.

The Author:
Paola Calvetti, giornalista, ha lavorato alla redazione milanese del quotidiano "la Repubblica" e scritto per il "Corriere della Sera" e il settimanale "Io Donna". Ha diretto l'ufficio stampa del Teatro alla Scala e, in seguito, è stata direttore della comunicazione del Touring Club Italiano e direttore comunicazione e marketing dell'Opera di Firenze - Maggio Musicale Fiorentino.
Finalista al premio Bancarella con il romanzo d'esordio, L'amore segreto, nel 2000 ha pubblicato L'Addio, nel 2004 Né con te né senza di te, nel 2006 Perché tu mi hai sorriso, nel 2009 Noi due come un romanzo (Mondadori), seguito nel 2012 da Olivia, ovvero la lista dei sogni possibili, e nel 2013 da Parlo d'amor con me, pubblicati da Mondadori. I suoi romanzi sono tradotti in Francia, Germania, Spagna, Albania, Giappone, Olanda, Stati Uniti.